Government of Himachal Pradesh

Department of Horticulture


eUdyan-Integrated Horticulture Sector Management System (IHSMS)

About Department of Horticulture

The State Department of Horticulture functions with the objective of building a prosperous Himachal through scientific development of horticulture by harnessing the natural resources for the development of a sustainable system of agriculture in the hilly areas. The Department came into existence in September 1970. The pragmatic policies for the development of horticulture of the State Government combined with their adoption by the farmers has resulted in transformation of the horticulture industry of Himachal Pradesh. The State has earned the distinction of being the Apple State of India.

Organisation Structure

The Department functions under the administrative control of the Principal Secretary (Horticulture) to the Government of Himachal Pradesh. The Director of Horticulture is the Head of the Department and is assisted by the Joint Director of Horticulture, Deputy Directors of Horticulture and Subject Matter Specialists at the Directorate level. There are seven specified divisions in the Directorate, namely

  • 1. General Horticulture
  • 2. Plant Nutrition
  • 3. Plant Protection
  • 4. Marketing and Post-Harvest Management
  • 5. Fruit Processing and Utilization
  • 6. Horticulture Economics and Statistics
  • 7. Horticulture Information Services

For the implementation of the horticulture development programmes and activities, the State has been divided into two zones namely the North Zone and South Zone.

The Director of Horticulture directly controls the horticulture development activities in the South Zone of the State which comprises of the Bilaspur, Kinnaur, Mandi, Shimla, Sirmaur and Solan districts. Project Director (Mushrooms) at Chambaghat, Solan and the Joint Director of Horticulture (Hqrs) Shimla look after the Mushroom Development and Fruit Processing activities, respectively under the control of the Director of Horticulture.

The Additional Director of Horticulture posted at Dharamshala, District Kangra, supervises the horticulture development activities in the North Zone of the State which comprises of the Chamba, Hamirpur, Kangra, Kullu, Lahaul&Spiti and Una districts, under the overall control of the Director of Horticulture.

Deputy Directors of Horticulture have been posted in the each district to implement and co-ordinate all the horticulture activities in their respective districts. They are assisted by District Horticulture Officer in extension and input supply and Subject Matter Specialists in the field of orchards and nurseries, plant protection, floriculture and marketing, depending upon the scope of activities in the concerned district.